Bianca Kumar

Lessons no longer available

Bianca Kumar is the assistant principal oboe and English horn  with the Wichita Grand Opera, principal oboe with the Westwood Chamber Ensemble, and the rotating  

principal oboe, assistant principal oboe, and English horn with the Taneycomo Festival Orchestra since  2018. She has also been a guest oboist with various ensembles in the Kansas City area, including  Classical Revolution and the Midwest Chamber Ensemble. As an administrator, Kumar is the Program  Assistant at UMKC Conservatory’s ConservatoryAcademy where she oversees general Academy  functions. 

Kumar earned a Master of Music from the UMKC Conservatory in 2016, studying with Celeste  Johnson and Mary Posses, and a Bachelor of Music from The Ohio State University, where she studied  oboe with Robert Sorton and flute with Katherine Borst Jones. While at UMKC, Kumar was appointed  a fellowship in Plaza Winds, the Conservatory’s Graduate Fellowship Woodwind Quintet, that  performed concerts, gave clinics at schools, and promoted the university. Kumar also performed with  the UMKC Conservatory Orchestra, Conservatory Chamber Orchestra, Wind Symphony, Wind  Ensemble, and Canticum Novum. She has also been a guest oboist with various ensembles in the  Kansas City area, including Classical Revolution and the Midwest Chamber Ensemble. Her recent  competitive achievements include winning the 2016 OSU Concerto Competition on oboe and the 2016  Central Ohio Flute Association Collegiate Division Competition on flute. While at OSU, she performed as principal oboe and English horn with the Symphony Orchestra, Double Reed Consort, and Lyric  opera, and played oboe and flute in the Klezmer Ensemble and Wind Symphony. Kumar has been a  concerto soloist with the Lake Michigan Youth Symphony and the Kalamazoo Summer Chamber  Music Academy Orchestra, and was a regular touring member of the Southwest Michigan Flute  Quartet. She has performed in masterclasses given by oboists Nancy Ambrose-King, Courtney Miller,  Dan Stolper, Linda Strommen, and Nicholas Stovall, and flutists Ian Clarke, Alexa Still, Jim Walker,  Adrianne Greenbaum, Nancy Hadden, and Marianne Gedigian.